Second edition 2023 – East African region


The second edition of the prize focuses on the East African region : Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Uganda, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Selection Procedure

In January 2023, The Foundation contacted a list of nominators who are notable figures in the Photography and contemporary African art scene. They were asked to nominate candidates for the second edition of the James Barnor Prize, dedicated to the East African region.

Nominees will have to submit a dossier that includes a presentation of their artistic career, and a portfolio including three representative series of work.

In April, the jury will meet to select a laureate.